3 Generations of Happy Neighbors

Schedule Maintenance Request a Quote

Heating & Air Conditioning Industry Lingo

EPA Certification

The EPA requires any person that handles refrigerants to pass the Refrigerant Transition and Recovery Certification Program which is administered by ACCA (Air Conditioning Contractors of America) and Ferris State University.

The test consists of four sections and a service technician must pass the core plus at least one of the remaining three specialty sections to become certified.  Type I certification is on Small Appliances, Type II is on High Pressure and Very High Pressure Appliances, and Type III is on Low Pressure Appliances.  If the technician passes the core plus each of the other sections he/she will earn the Universal Certification.

All Appel Heating & Air Conditioning Field Technicians, the Service/Installation Manager, and both Sales Representatives are EPA certified.

NATE Certification

North American Technician Excellence (NATE,) headquartered in Arlington, VA., was founded in 1997 and is the nation’s largest non-profit certification organization for heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration technicians.  NATE is the only technician certification organization governed, owned, operated, developed and supported by the HVACR industry. NATE tests technicians; others train.

NATE’s certification tests represent real world working knowledge of HVAC and HVACR systems and candidates can earn installation and/or service certification in one or more specialty areas. NATE certification tests are developed by the NATE technical committee. The NATE technical committee is comprised of industry experts who developed and oversee NATE’s Knowledge Areas of Technician Expertise (KATEs). Each exam is developed based on these knowledge areas of expertise. The technical committee represents a wide variety of perspectives including contractors, educators, manufacturers, and utilities. Members also are diversely spread throughout the country.

Why Should I Ask For A NATE-Certified Technician?

NATE’s HVAC and HVAC/R testing validates the technician’s knowledge and a training program’s instruction. The NATE tests are rigorous, multiple-choice, knowledge-based tests that represent what 80% of technicians have an 80% chance of encountering once a year.

What Specialties Are Covered By NATE Certification?

There are 21 NATE installation, service, and senior tests. Specialties include Air Conditioning, Air Distribution, Heat Pumps, Gas Furnaces, Oil Furnaces, Hydronics Gas, Hydronics Oil, Light Commercial Refrigeration, Commercial Refrigeration, and Senior HVAC Efficiency Analyst.

All Appel Heating & Air Conditioning service technicians and the service manager are NATE certified.